The plan, the route

After an amazing 3 months spent working at Maine Media Workshops in Rockport, it is finally time to head home. I have decided to take a semester off of school to figure out where I will be completing my studies, since my BFA program at NMSU just underwent serious change (not for the better), and there is little left for me to return to there. This unexpected chunk of “free” time will allow me to take a circuitous route home, touring the East Coast and the Deep South. While I’ve taken many a road trip through the West, this will be my first exploration of the East/South.

I will be staying with friends along the way, both new and longstanding, and surely meeting new folks as well. I will be working on several art projects also, taking time to explore and enjoy these new areas.

Tentative schedule:
Leave Maine: Aug 26
Boston: Aug 26-28
Cold Spring, NY: Aug 28-29
NYC: Aug 29-Sept 2
Philly: Sept 3-6
D.C.: Sept 6-8
Red River Gorge, KY: Sept 8-10
Nashville: Sept 10-15
Atlanta: Sept 15-17
From Atlanta onward, my schedule is fairly flexible. I am open to suggestions, offers, and ideas. I am hoping to be home around Sept 25.Today I am packing, cleaning, and saying final goodbyes. It was harder than I thought it would be to say goodbye to a few people I met this summer. The intensity of working so closely with a group of like-minded people is not a bond easily shed, I suppose. To the ones who matter (you know who you are): I am certain our paths will cross again, and I look forward to connecting in another chapter, another time.
I’ll take a long run near the water this evening, and depart tomorrow morning after breakfast. So long, Maine. It’s been good. Time to go.
5 thoughts on “The plan, the route

  1. Chantal Spilliaert August 27, 2012 / 6:07 am

    Enjoy your journey!

    Like

  2. Hillary and Mary ann September 4, 2012 / 8:32 pm

    We miss your great energy! Will enjoy following you home – Love Hillary and Maryann

    Like

  3. Carol Giroud September 5, 2012 / 7:03 pm

    May each day bring a new adventure!
    Take care – Carol Giroud

    Like

  4. rameyontheroad January 4, 2013 / 5:54 pm

    Thanks all! It was a great road trip, preceded by a fabulous summer, and followed by a wonderful trip abroad. 2012 was one to remember!

    Like

Leave a Reply

