It’s time (again): summer travel 2013

The view from the top of Cathedral, Tuolumne Meadows, during my 2011 western road trip.
The view from the top of Cathedral, Tuolumne Meadows, during my 2011 western road trip.

I won’t lie. I have itchy feet pretty much all the time. When I’m not traveling, I’m probably thinking about my next trip, which now is imminent. Hence, time for a post!

As an adult university student, I am acutely aware of the rarity of extended free time in the “real world,” and I am amazed that more students don’t capitalize on their annual summer hiatus. Maybe it’s because they’re all so broke and in debt they can’t afford to go anywhere. Financial stability — yet another benefit of being a 30-year-old college student instead of a 20-year-old.

Anyway, this is my final summer before graduation. I’m going to make the most of it, of course.

Early next month, I will capitalize on my miles rewards for a free ticket to New York City and surrounds for a couple weeks. While in the area, I’ll visit some friends in Philly, then rent a car and drive north for a visit to my former colleagues at Maine Media Workshops.

Quick trip, but sure to be eventful.

A week after I return to New Mexico, I’ll be leaving for the real summer adventure: 6 week road trip in the beautiful, expansive West. As previously observed while on the East Coast last summer, I am a child of the West:

The open spaces and wild places of the West beckon to me. They comfort me in a way that only the West can. I yearn to see the monsoons roll across the desert, to see snow-capped ragged peaks jut from the open plateaus, and to know that there is something wilder than me somewhere close by. The East Coast feels so… domesticated. Granted, it serves as the hub of our American cultural heritage, and I’ve immensely enjoyed my time here. But I am undoubtedly a child of the West, who sings the songs of mountains and trees, and dances in the desert and canyons and under open sky.

What else can I say? I’m sure the contrast will be profound; one week in NYC, the next in the desert SW, and the next in San Diego.

Here is the tentative plan.
Here is the tentative plan.

I’ll spend a week in San Diego with Ben, where he attends the massive ESRI conference every year for his job and I get a free week of beach, tennis, and good food. Not so bad. From there, northward bound!

The plan is loose, as most road trip plans should be. I’ll likely stop in SF, perhaps Tahoe or Yosemite, then up the Humboldt coast. My eventual destination is my hometown, Portland. Ben will fly up for a couple weeks and we’ll spend some time on the Oregon Coast, as well as climbing either in central Oregon or up in Squamish, B.C. There will be backpacking, hiking, eating, visiting, beaching, and of course some photographing on this trip. I’ll post here as I poke along, for all of you to journey along with me.

Summertime, and the livin’ is easy!

One thought on “It’s time (again): summer travel 2013

  1. Robyn May 20, 2013 / 3:38 am

    Yeah! So looking forward to being with you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

